My Life

Hey everyone!

This is Anjali Roongta student of class ten, debutante author, lover of blood guts and gore, horrible horrible singer and weird nerd, not necessarily in that order. So, this is basically my version of a draw my life video where I will try to tell my whole sixteen years on this earth in six hundred words, though it is most likely to fly out of the window. The word limit.

It all started on 2nd March, 1999 when I was born while everyone else played Rang Holi outside. Rang Holi’s like the ultimate Indian festival where everyone plays with colours, attacks each other with water balloons and water guns. Mom and Dad wanted to name me Manjari, a mixture of their names but my youngest maternal uncle named me Anjali, because he thought that I looked like the heroine in K2H2, one of my all time favourites. And then there was me, Anjali Roongta, a little baby with tufts of weird wavy brown hair which never seems to look the same and dark brown eyes. I spent the first few years of my life with my Mom’s family, as my parents made a name for themselves. I don’t remember much but I do remember that it was a time full of fun, swinging from tails of buffaloes and touring the village with my Uncle.

Then one day my mom came and whisked me away wither to Kolkata, the city of joy. I remember doing a total Bollywood drama for not going to school, even though it is my favourite place now or maybe second favourite- first favourite has to be storybooks! Mom says it’s because some people in the housing complex had been rude because I wasn’t as fluent in English as them. I only remember walking the school corridors with Mum, on my first day, a black vortex everywhere, I think that represent’s my dread but it all changed when I bumped into my first best friends, Sanjana, Rahul and Sakshi. The four of us were inseparable and always there for each other. We couldn’t even keep a decent fight for five minutes! Same carpool, same benches, same everything. We found loopholes in the teachers’ every attempt to separate us. My parents always knew  I would be intelligent, they say, when I first spoke only eight months old and I lived up to their expectations by coming first in my class in class one and getting into the same school as my younger sister which is one of the best in Kolkata.

I remember my sister, Priya, crying because we were in different classes, her being two and half years younger to me and I was crying because I can not see her cry. Though looking back, I think she just wanted her friends to know that I was her didi (elder sister) and no one else’s and that only she could bully me. One of my earliest pictures is of her standing Hercules’ style in front of a tri cycle she had pushed me off. I studied in AGCS for four years and made my first Agite friends on my birthday when these mean girls were being nasty, though it’s not a big deal in India, and two kids help me fight them and soon we became the golden trio of the class.

As the years went by our group expended till I changed schools and went to a boarding school which was one of the best years of my life even if it was  little difficult.

Then I left, courtesy to my sister and joined Pratt Memorial where I now study. Last four years here I have had loads of fun, especially this year, which is weird because it is supposed  to be the scary ICSE-  one of the most important exams ever- year. So I guess that’s it, all about my life and wow I actually did not blow up the word limit by much. The thing I love the most bout PMS, however will be the awesome friends I have gained here, both online and offline, just like in every school I attended.Good day and sionara! 

Loads of love and warm wishes-

Anjali

2 thoughts on “My Life

  1. There are a few things I can’t believe regarding this article:
    1. I can’t believe that your parents wanted to name you ‘Manjari’.
    2. I can’t believe that you used to be such a softie. (Past tense? IDK.); and
    3. Can’t believe your sister cried for you.

    Keep writing. And let me know when you post another article.

Leave a Reply

